Friday, 2 August 2013


Rhun ap Iorwerth AM / AC for Yns Mon
All in all it was good night, with Plaid Cymru celebrating a magnificent win in the by-election to choose a new assembly member for Ynys Mon. Rhun ap Iorwerth, held the Ynys Mon seat for Plaid, securing a 9,166 majority over Labour, UKIP came in a close third place (to Labour). 

Interestingly enough the Conservatives' vote collapsed (by 20% ) with the Lib Dems coming in last behind Socialist Labour. In the south east Plaid in Penyrheol in Caerphilly were also celebrating won two by-elections.

The Ynys Mon By-Election Result

Rhun ap Iorwerth (Plaid) 12,601 (58.24%, +16.82%)
Tal Michael (Lab) 3,435 (15.88%, -10.33%)
Nathan Gill (UKIP) 3,099 (14.32%)
Neil Fairlamb (Cons) 1,843 (8.52%, -20.70%)
Kathrine Jones (Soc Lab) 348(1.61%)
Steve Churchman (Lib Dem) 309 (1.43%, -1.73%)
Plaid maj 9,166 (42.37%)
13.58% swing Lab to Plaid
Electorate 51,024; turnout 21,635 (42.40%, -6.29%)

Penyrheol County Council By-election Result (Caerphilly County Council) 

Steve Skivens (Plaid Cymru) 929
Gareth Pratt (Labour) 554
Jamie Davies (Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts) 173
Cameron Muir-Jones (Conservative) 135

(Stats with thanks to National Left)

Plaid Michelle Britton was elected as Plaid Cymru community councillor for Penyrheol.

No comments:

Post a Comment